Link: Random Ramblings: amberguessa said: … Exactly. And the reason she lied to begin with…

nanner:

amberguessa said:

Exactly. And the reason she lied to begin with was to put a friend who made her feel bad in her place; it happens. It’s called being a fucking teenager.

I think a whole lot of people are trying to look at high school social structure through adult eyes and…

I took Boo to see this yesterday and we both really loved it. I was pleased with the tone of the overall movie, thought it was quite sex-positive, and sighed over the idea that this would have been a Lohan type role before she went off the rails.

On a feminist plus note, afterwards, as we walked to get ice cream, Boo asked me if I noticed that when movies talk about when girls have sex they’re called sluts and boys are told their cool. (Something I thought the walk-out-of-the-bedroom scene highlighted nicely.) And so we had a nice chat about what that says about society and how they value women.

