Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Back in November, I wrote about one of my annual gifts for my daughter, a mixed cd of women musicians that we call “˜Ms. Claus’s Party Mix’. It’s a tradition born out of desire for my daughter to be exposed to a wide variety of women’s voices and music. Every year I ask around for suggestions of what to put on that year’s mix.

I had a ton more suggestions this year than I have in the past, both here on Persephone and on my personal Tumblr. I also received a lot of very nice notes about what a good idea this is, and I encourage anyone to take the idea and run with it. There’s nothing inherently “˜Christmas-y’ about the concept ““ this would be a great idea for birthdays or celebrations or just nice gifts for young girls in your life.

Because of the interest, I present the final list of tunes I put on this year’s double CD. Thank you to everyone who gave suggestions. I have tried to individually thank everyone who took the time to help me out but I’m sure I probably missed a few people along the way. So, thank you. MiniBelle enjoyed your ideas.

Songs listed in the order they appear on the cds:

“Christmas Wrapping (Waitresses Cover)” —  Summer Camp*

“Tightrope” ““ Janelle Monáe

“Gravity” ““ Sara Bareilles

“Caesar” ““ I Blame Coco

“When Doves Cry (Prince Cover)” ““ Robyn

“Favorite Things” ““ Pomplamoose

“When I’m Small” ““ Phantogram

“Creep (Radiohead Cover)” ““ Scala & Kolacny Brothers

“Lemonade” ““ Cocorosie

“Bulletproof” ““ La Roux

“Rama Lama Bang Bang” ““ Rosin Murphy

“Samson and Delilah” ““ Shirely Manson

“Jesus Saves, I Spend” ““ St. Vincent

“The Pirate Song” ““ Go Betty Go

“Mouthwash” ““ Kate Nash

“This Corrosion (Sisters of Mercy Cover)” ““ Diane Birch

“All the Same To Me” ““ Anya Marina

“Breathless” ““ Corrine Bailey Rae

“Bei Mir Bist Du Schoen” ““ Andrews Sisters

“Anna” ““ Hello Saferide

“Chick Habit” ““ April March

“Dance Me to the End of Love” ““ Madeleine Peyroux

“Fear” ““ Jazmine Sullivane

“I’m Blue” ““ The 5, 6, 7, 8’s

“Je ne Veux pas Travailler” ““ Pink Martini

“Malo” ““ Bebe

“Quelqu’un m’a dit” — Carla Bruni

“Sort Of” ““ Ingrid Michaelson

“All My Love” ““ Bettye LaVette

“Walking on Broken Glass” ““ Annie Lennox

“The Habenera” ““ Maria Callas

“Merry Christmas and Happy New Year” ““ Kate and Anna McGarrigle

* The first song on the first Ms. Claus Party Mix was the Waitresses “˜Christmas Wrapping’, which is my favorite holiday song. I thought this was a nice bit of continuity.

