Tags

, ,

DeathPeachyKeenSo two days into this process and everything is going peachy-keen. Its two days in. Even I can hold onto a resolution for that long, and I’m lazy like it’s my job. (She says, writing this update at her real, actual job that provides her with real, actual money.)

I spent some time navigating around the linky and the FB group, checking out what other people have listed as goals and feeling out my fellow writers. I’m in awe of the ambition shown in some of the goals lists, word counts I could only hit on a very good day writing and may never hope to have as a regular occurrence, books ready to be queried, non-writing targets being offered. Because I am a bit competitive by nature I had to talk myself back down from ramping my goals up. I know what my life is like right now with a full time job, a partner working overseas, a teenager in high school, and an online magazine I feel perpetually behind on my duties for. Small goals are where it’s at for me. I just keep telling myself that.

So how did I do? Let’s review:

Mostly Reasonable Goals:  Round of Words Logo

  • Write 250 words a day.

    I did write every day. I realize now I should have been more specific in stating that I want to write 250 words a day of fiction, not for Persephone or other writing projects. So I’m amending this goal a bit to specify my difficulty is in finding time for my fiction projects, not my non-fiction work.

  • Commit to writing at least one post every week for Persephone Magazine, outside my editor duties.

    Hit this one too for this week. Non-scheduled post stuck in our unicorn folder and a plan for two more coming. I also caught up on all my new writer inquiries, commented on posts, and caught up on my social media promotion.

  • Revise and rework a writing sample for application to the Juniper Summer Writing Institute.

    Nope, haven’t worked on that this week at all. I did read over the institute’s webpage again. Which is something.

  • Apply, and don’t talk self out of applying, to the same.

    Not yet!

  • Read and comment on other participants blogs during this period.

    Like a bandit. I didn’t specify a number but I had it in my head I’d try to get around to at least a half dozen this week, but I actually visited a lot more and tried to leave a comment on everyone I visited. I know I’m a sucker for feedback. No one likes to think they’re shouting into a void.

