Tags

, ,

ROW80LogocopyI often feel I’m failing at something by not having a clever title for these. Or an interesting title. Like, whatcha doing thinking you can write when you can’t even hook people with a blog post title?

So. This process. The RW80 process. I can’t believe we’re, what, 5 weeks into this? I feel like I have relatively little to show for that time, even though I more or less hit my goals more or less every week. I’m just not getting anywhere with my WIP. I think about it a lot. I think about working on it. And sometimes I do, but not as much as I should or as faithfuly as I should. I’ve never been very good about shutting out the other life distractions that keep me from writing. Which means, obviously, that I don’t write as much as I want to or should. Sometimes I think I should chuck fiction writing for now and pick it up after the move because, theoretically, I’ll have lots of dead time in which to work on projects. But the move is still uncemented, sometime to come in the next 6 months or so. And ‘6 months or so’ can turn into a year or more so easily.

RW80 has helped me get back into writing for Persephone Magazine, which I’m on the editorial board of, and have been a staff writer for since a month after its founding. I had overloaded myself for a bit and burned out of wanting to contribute. Sticking to my goal of producing one non-required piece for them has worked out wonderfully. It’s nice to be back in a rhythm.  It must be showing through in what I’m producing too, because my last several pieces have had more comments on them than I’ve gotten in a long while. So, yay!

Let’s check in.

Mostly Reasonable Goals:

Write 250 words a day.

My most important goal and one I’ve fallen down on. If it’s ‘write 250 words, any words’, than bully for me, cause I do that every day. If its’ ‘write 250 words of fiction’, well, fuck me, because I haven’t done that in weeks.

Commit to writing at least one post every week for Persephone Magazine, outside my editor duties.

Blammo! This is on pace for every week. I even restarted my Buffy recaps last week. Walking Dead comes back tonight as well, and that’s a regular recap for Wednesdays.

Revise and rework a writing sample for application to the Juniper Summer Writing Institute.

Have my pages printed out and sitting next to me as I type to do some editing.

Apply, and don’t talk self out of applying, to the same.

Not yet, but this is more of an end of round goal.

Read and comment on other participants blogs during this period.

Nope! Sorry everyone.

