Tags

, ,

ROW80LogocopyThis is the first Sunday in a long time where I’ve said ‘to hell with all that’ and haven’t stepped foot out of the house. I’m always running around and feel sort of weird when I’m not. I know that I’m hardly alone in the ‘over scheduled, over worked’ category of life.

For instance, I sat down to write this post about two hours ago. In that this window has been open on my computer for two hours. In that time, I wrote one sentence here, remembered I hadn’t had any lunch yet, made lunch for my daughter and myself, prepped and put a cranberry-apple pie in the oven (I have a family dinner tonight), made myself some tea and ate a cookie. So while I may have sworn off running errands and I’m still sitting my pajamas at 3:49 in the afternoon, apparently I can’t even do lazy Sunday right.

My intention was to let myself be lazy today, watch a Lifetime movie (check — a girl suspects her boyfriend of murdering another pregnant girl!), and do some writing, but the fact of the matter is, this is the most writing I’ve done so far. I’ve got my outline and some papers spread out next to me. That’s got to count for something, yeah?

Let’s check in.

Mostly Reasonable Goals:

Write 250 words a day.

I’m going to revised this goal. I’m writing well more than 250 words a day, but most of it is on the non-fiction side. Being specific about fiction writing will help me not weasel myself out of it. So:

Write 250 words a day on one of my fiction WIPs.

Also, I’ve recognized some of where I’m stalling in my Leviathan stories, in that I have not a great grasp on the antagonist and some of the other side characters, so their motivations are falling flat. Over the next couple of weeks, I aim to do some brainstorming and plotting with these people.

Commit to writing at least one post every week for Persephone Magazine, outside my editor duties.

Two articles last week, plus formatting and intro-ing cross posts, and taking over for the EIC so she could have some days off.

Revise and rework a writing sample for application to the Juniper Summer Writing Institute.

No movement this week.

Apply, and don’t talk self out of applying, to the same.

I may have to rethink this. I know this goal says ‘don’t talk self out of applying’ , but I’m going to be making an international move this summer. The time and money I’d have to spend there might be better invested in the costs associated with this. I have a house to sell, a daughter to get ready to move, most of my world possessions to either get rid of or put in storage, and maybe I’ve got too much on my plate.

Any advice?

Read and comment on other participants blogs during this period.

Yes! I’ve been good about making the rounds, I believe, and trying not to just go to the same blogs over and over. I’ve even posted links in the FB group.

